New Camera!

Well, on Labor Day my dad and I went to Best Buy and I got…..

A new CAMERA!!! 😀

YAY!!

It is a Canon Powershot SX 40 HS, 12.1 mega pixal, 35x optical zoom!!  And so far I LOVE it to pieces!

I have been looking at getting it for a few MONTHS now, so I finally decided that I wanted to, and boy am I happy I did! 🙂

So that’s one exciting thing.  Another is that my dad finished the chicken house (he finished it a few days ago, but I just took pictures of it today)!  I think he is going to finish putting some chicken wire up, and maybe a few other things (we’re going to paint it I think), but other then that he’s finished.  It looks very, very, VERY good!

Here is the left side of it also known as “The Chicken Yard”.  I somehow didn’t think to take a picture of the front…sorry!  I will have to post one later on!

To the right is (obviously) the door and ramp that lets them in and out of the coop, and the compartment on the left is a door where we sweep out the dirty litter so it’s always nice and clean inside!

Ok, in this picture I am standing in the doorway on the left side of the coop, and on the right side, as you can see, there is a screen wall and on the opposite side of the screen wall is where the chickens come in at night. 🙂

Here is straight ahead from the door.  Some nice shelves and he put a light above the shelves.

See, light! 🙂

There is the blue nesting box and some of our chickens.

Here are some roosts, and so far they all like the top one, so at night they are all huddled up in a big clump at the top!   ha ha 🙂

One of the chickens has claimed a corner in the coop and there is an egg there everyday. 🙂  Right now we get about five eggs a day.  Our chicks have just grown up so most of them are getting ready to start laying.  So far one of the new chicks has been laying one egg everyday and it’s tiny!  (We have four older chickens that we have been getting eggs from since last year)

Here are some chickens! 🙂

   

   

This little white one is so cute!  Her name is Jemima, and she is so small!  You can see next to the red hen how small she is.

~*~*~*~*~

Here are some random test shots that I have taken so far with my camera (I took all those chicken pics with it too!).  Enjoy!

This is my clock, I was testing out the zoom from sitting on my bed.

My desk…

   

In these two pics you can see that one of them is focused on the “J”, and one is focused on the “Y”.  (I was using the manual focusing in these two pics)

This is the “Low Light” setting.  There was almost no light in my room when I took this picture, but everything showed up and it focused very well!

   

Flowers on the foliage and automatic settings.

   

The buds on the crape myrtle tree were far away so I used the amazing zoom and managed to get a closer look at them.  The grass is just a landscape setting test (the greens really pop out!).

This web was HIGH in a tree and I zoomed in just as the sun shined behind it.

Raindrops on mom’s car. 🙂

Now here are some effects and settings that are really neat!

Fish eye effect.

This one is called tiny something (I don’t remember)!  If you can’t tell, the knit rose is in focus and so is everything in line with the rose, but everything above and below it is blurred.

   

This is Toy Camera effect (it looks like you’re looking through a little camera with the shadowed edge).

More toy camera.

   

Vibrant compared to normal.

This is called Poster effect, and if you look closely at the pom-pom worm, you can see that it almost looks animated or painted on.

   

Here is a fun effect called Color Assist which I have on my little camera as well. You focus on one color, then it only brings out that color you focused on (and the colors similar to it) and then makes everything else black and white.  It’s fun to fiddle around with!

Well, that’s all I have to share right now!  I need to make sure the boys went to bed, so I hope you enjoy this post! 🙂  I can’t wait to share more about my camera with you guys and whatever else is going on around here!  God Bless, and here’s a pic to say goodnight…

Jenny~

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne Huber
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 05:30:16

    I love your new camera and all the cool pics! You are going to be camera mad now! OK, so I heard you have a new nephew- I don’t even know his name yet- so get your ole’ Aunt Jayne some pics of HIM on here and the new mama!! PLEASE!! I love you!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tyler Worsham
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 16:29:56

    That is a very nice camera. I love cannons.

    Reply

    • Jennifer
      Sep 07, 2012 @ 18:02:51

      Yes! I really have been enjoying it so far! There is a girl on youtube who has the same camera and put up some awesome tutorial videos, so I have been learning how to use it a lot easier than figuring everything out by myself! 🙂 (Canon is my favorite camera brand.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

