Dream Come True

100-1064

(I didn’t take this picture)

“I was walking down the road that we live off of, and the sun was setting.  The sky was warm with shades of yellow and orange and big, swirly, white clouds.  I had my camera strap around my neck and my camera in my hands ready to snap a shot of whatever came out of the beautiful scene I was in.  I reached the end of one of the horse pastures and noticed a flock of birds in the field.  They weren’t your regular robin or blackbird; they were bright, red, cardinals!  All over the place they were scattered.  Every inch of the grass.  I quickly turned on my camera and tried to take pictures, but my camera would not focus and it kept zooming in and zooming out and I couldn’t keep my hands steady!  Finally, the flash of the camera went off and all of the brilliant red birds flew up in the air and landed on what seemed to be a huge cork bulletin board in the middle of the field…” that’s about where I woke up.

So, two or three days after that dream occurred, I woke up and went downstairs to find my little brother, John, looking out the window into the backyard.  I didn’t have a clue what he was looking at, for it was very wet and rainy and muddy, but his face was lit up by the sight f something back there.  As I walked closer to him he looked at me and said “Jenny, come here and see whats all over the backyard!” I reached the window and to my great surprise there were tons of male and female cardinals all over our backyard!  I couldn’t believe it!

IMG_0310 - Copy

Apparently my mom and dad didn’t believe it either because John said he told them and they said no way, but after I told mom to come see for herself, she couldn’t believe it and was very sorry to have not believed John in the first place (he is a trickster sometimes, so you never know when to believe him)!

IMG_0329 - Copy

It was so pretty!  There were other birds flying around too, but the majority of them were cardinals.  As long as I can recall, these lovely red (and brown) birds have always been my favorite wild bird.

IMG_0333 - Copy

If you can’t tell, there is a male and female in this picture.  The females blended in with the ground so well that my camera was having a hard time capturing a good picture of them.

IMG_0338 - Copy

I wish I could have gotten a full view of the backyard with all the birds hopping around, but I was taking the pictures from the window because it was still raining outside, so it just didn’t turn out when I tried!  Oh well!

IMG_0337 - Copy

John drew a picture of a female and he did a great job!  If you look closely you can tell that the female has a greenish tent to it’s color and red on the tip of it’s tail and wings, and John drew a greenish bird with red accents!

IMG_0341 - Copy

This picture is my favorite one…it turned out really clear and in focus.

IMG_0382 - Copy

When I was 10 or 11 I actually “saved” a cardinal.  It was raining really hard outside and we were sitting at the kitchen table and we heard a big THUD on the window and I looked out and there was a cardinal lying on the deck!  I thought it was dead, so I grabbed a towel, ran out in the rain and examined the bird to see if it was breathing and then I picked it up and wrapped it in the towel and then I brought it inside.  It stayed in a cage in my room for about three days until it started moving well again.  It cracked a side of it’s beak and got a black eye, but he seemed okay when we let him go.  That is always a wonderful memory to think about!

IMG_0410 - Copy

I’ve learned that cardinals like the rain and the snow.  It is SO wet at our house! I’m sick of it!  I wish it would be sunny!  Hopefully tomorrow the sunshine will come out and shine down upon all the lovebirds that will be flying around. 🙂

IMG_0361 - Copy   IMG_0385 - Copy

God is so marvelous and wonderful and I am so grateful that he let my eyes witness this lovely scene!

IMG_0369 - Copy - Copy

Happy Valentines Day (tomorrow)!  May your day be blessed with the people you love surrounding you. 🙂

IMG_0191

(A heart!) 🙂

Much love.

Jenny~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne Huber
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 06:50:20

    I love you! Happy Valentines Day to you! This is perhaps my favorite post so far! I love the cardinals, especially the female. She has always been made out to be not pretty, but with her green color and red tips, she is beautiful! Your writing made me able to imagine the beautiful sight in your backyard! And after that dream, wow! Thank you Jenny! Keep writing and photographing!
    Much love, Aunt Jayne. 🙂
    “… The joy of The Lord is out strength.” Nehemiah 8:10

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 14:42:30

    Thank you Aunt Jayne! Happy Valentines Day to you too! 🙂 Oh, thank you so much. Aren’t the male cardinals so radiant? I’ve always loved the female ones–so simple. Much love,

    Jenny~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

