Last Cake Class

Today Sylvie and I attended our last cake class *sniff*.  We’ve learned a lot and are definitely able and ready to make a cake whenever need be!  Our last class was very enjoyable and we each got a certificate and some papers saying that we “passed” course 1!  Yippee! 🙂

My cake is inspired by Halloween.  I thought that was appropriate!

IMG_6602

The last thing we learned today was the Ribbon Rose and how to write on your cake.  Writing is probably the hardest because you don’t want to mess up and you have to make the icing very thin and the tips are really small, etc…I practiced a LOT before I wrote what I wanted to write on my cake!

IMG_6604

The roses are so fun and super easy to make!  I’ve said this before, but it’s much too much frosting for me!  They turned out pretty though.

IMG_6606

I went all out for the last lesson!  I even added candy eyes on the top where it says “BOO!”! 🙂  I’ve really enjoyed the Wilton Method cake decorating course 1 and I recommend anyone to take a class like this one or a different kind of crafty class sometime; it’s really fun!

IMG_6605

IMG_6610 IMG_6609

Sylvie’s cake was so pretty, but, alas, it took a fall and got pretty messed up. 😦  Her roses were really good though and as you can see we all thought it tasted yummy!

~*~*~

Yesterday I went to get my hair trimmed and I actually like the way it looks better then when I first got it cut short (a few posts ago)!  Maybe it’s because I’ve warmed up to the short style, I don’t know.  I’ve decided to share some of my cakey knowledge, so to start off I will share with you a recipe (and some links) for some butter-cream frosting!

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup of Vegetable Shortening (Crisco)  NOTE: You can use butter instead of Crisco.  I will have a few links at the end of the recipe for some other recipes!
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla (or any other flavoring you desire)  NOTE: Wilton sells clear vanilla if you want stark white frosting, but it’s an imitation vanilla so I prefer just normal.
  • 7-8 teaspoons of water or milk NOTE: using water will allow it to last longer, but using milk tastes better.
  • 1 Pound of Confectioners Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon of Meringue Powder (to make it stiff…if you don’t know, meringue is an egg substitute an you actually don’t have to use it in your frosting if you don’t want to!)
  • A Pinch of Salt (Optional: so it won’t be so sweet)
  • (To make chocolate add 3/4 cup, or less, of coco powder and 1-2 Tablespoons of water or milk)

With a hand mixer or electric mixer mix together shortening, flavoring, and meringue power.  Once mixed slowly add liquid and sugar.  Mix together until all blended.  Ta da!!!  You know how to make frosting!  If you need it thinner then add more liquid and if you need it thicker add more sugar and don’t forget that pinch of salt because it can get pretty sweet!  With Crisco you can store it in the fridge for 3 weeks and in the freezer for about 3 months.  Also this recipe makes enough frosting to ice a two layered 8-9 inch circular cake with a little left over.

I prefer using butter because I don’t like knowing that I’m eating fake, hydrogenated, lard (for lack of a better description)!  I haven’t tried using milk though.  A suggestion for decorating would be to make sure your frosting is not too thin.  If you use butter it will become room temperature and melt a little which will make an extravagant decoration run together or mess up!  Play around with it though and see what works for you! 🙂  I will definitely share more tricks and things that we’ve learned this past month.  (Here are some other frosting links I found.  They are literally all the same, just different sites!)

http://savorysweetlife.com/2010/03/buttercream-frosting/

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/gale-gand/quick-vanilla-buttercream-frosting-recipe/index.html

http://www.marthastewart.com/336452/billys-vanilla-buttercream

http://www.food.com/recipe/vanilla-buttercream-frosting-from-sprinkles-cupcakes-222188

~*~*~

Thank you for stopping by if you’ve never been here before, and thank you for stopping by again if you have been here before!  Much love and God bless.  I will be posting again soon!

Jenny~

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne Huber
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 18:52:08

    SO…. if a certain aunt were to need a special cake for a special occasion, could said aunt order said cake from you???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

