Jay Silver’s Cafe

IMG_8475

Today at lunch time my sister, Sylvie, and I put together a walk-in restaurant lunch for our siblings!  Our little cafe was called Jay Silver’s (a mash-up between both of our names, kind of). 🙂

IMG_8477

We served turkey sandwiches, grilled cheese sandwiches, chicken soup, biscuits, fresh squeezed lemonade, and cookies that were served right out of the oven!

IMG_8470

It was a lot of fun!  We use to do this quite often, Susanna, Skylar and I.  Today Sylvie was the waitress and sandwich maker and I was the “head chef”. 🙂

IMG_8471

IMG_8480

I used the Toll House/Nestle cookie recipe which is on the back of the chocolate chip bag, but I used our good wheat and sugar and I also put chocolate chips AND white chocolate chips.  They tasted so good!

~*~*~*~

Sylvie, Skylar, Esme and I went to the park today.  Skylar and I brought our roller blades and the girls brought their bikes.  It was very nice to get outside especially on such a nice day like today!  It wasn’t too cold, but cold enough to bring scarves and hats and jackets!

The past three days Sylvie has had her hair curled.  The first day she curled it with a flat iron, the second day with sponge curlers, and the third day with socks!  Yes…she tied socks in her hair, clean ones that it.

IMG_8339   IMG_8340

Here’s her hair with the flat iron.  Sarah came over and practiced hair stuff on all of our hair, except mine since, as some of you know I don’t have much right now!

IMG_6229

(Yay!  Awkward picture!  I’m actually trying to grow it out a bit longer.  Right now it’s longer then it is in that picture, but not much.)

IMG_8344

Esme’s hair, which is already naturally curly, looked beautiful!

IMG_8459

Here’s Sylvie’s hair with sponge curlers (sorry for the bad picture quality!)

IMG_8466

And here it is after being wrapped up in socks! 😀

IMG_8469

I personally like how this worked out the best.  It was SO simple and worked really well, especially if your hair holds a curl.  It probably turned out so good because her hair was curled the two days before!  I had fun wrapping her hair in socks too (and I made that hair bow which I shared in a post from March, 2013).

I also played around with heated curlers on Skylar’s hair and it looked beautiful!  I’ve just turned into quite the stylist! 🙂  Probably because I’m missing having longer hair and can’t do curls and braids, etc, on my own hair *sigh*.

~*~*~*~

So, all in all, today was a very good day.  I didn’t have high hopes for today just because I felt bogged down and tired and all that, but it was really fun to “own” a restaurant for a while then go to the park and then come home to cookies and a nice cup of tea; I love tea! 🙂

I hope you all are having a great January so far seeing that its already one week into the month!  I’ve got to get cracking on some things!  Well, God bless the rest of this week and stay warm and safe!  Write soon…

Jenny~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tia | A Caffeinated Brunette
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 20:08:09

    that’s so cute!
    xx Tia
    acaffeinatedbrunette.com

    Reply

  2. Jayne Huber
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 10:21:29

    LOVE the cafe- wish I could have patronized it! You will have to invite Casey & I over and he can style that hair too!! 🙂 The bow is very pretty and I do remember it! I love you!!!
    HE is so good to us:
    John 10:10, ” The thief comes only to kill, steal, and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

