Beauty Surrounds Me

The ice has finally melted away and the past couple of day have been beautiful.  The sun has been shining, the air has been crisp, and there has been an enchanting gentle breeze.  I love days like this.

IMG_7908

Almost melted ice

Two days ago my little sister Esme and my little brother Eli joined me on a little adventure through the woods.  One thing I will always love about our home are the woods that were our second home!  I grew up living in the woods everyday.  We made houses and decks and bridges which are now hanging onto their last threads.  We’ve named sections of the woods such as Deer Cavern, and we had parties with mud pies and leaf cookies.  Anyway.

IMG_7892

Moss on a tree

I love the woods.

IMG_7882

Tree bark

<><><>

On our walk through the woods we saw a hawk.  It was flying from tree to tree to find the perfect sunny spot to rest in.  It was beautiful!  You might not know this, but I have always loved birds.  Sitting outside and listening to all of the different birds chirping and fluttering by has always been one of my favorite things.  And if I was turned into an animal I would love to be an Eagle or a hawk.

IMG_7931

Ivy

Well, we followed this hawk through the woods and I had my dad’s Canon EOS T2i with me and I was having such a good time taking some of the most clear pictures ever, but…the hawk was too high above me to get a good picture of so I ran like the wind, which is big for me because I do not run, but I did and I ran inside to get my Canon Powershot xs40 with 35x zoom capacity (amazing camera that I highly recommend if you want good pictures but don’t want to go into debt!) and made it back before the hawk took off!  Here are some pictures that I got of the beautiful bird.

IMG_9768

Brilliant!  This was one of the first pictures I got of it!

IMG_9814

It flew away whenever we got too close to the tree it was in.  But luckily we kept finding it and were able to follow it to every spot it landed.  It was probably annoyed with us, but oh well!

IMG_9843

So.  After we went in a few circles watching it leave one branch and land on another, I noticed that there were two hawks.  This made us all very excited and we were split up keeping watch over the hawks who were in two different trees.

IMG_9826

Then the hawks landed in two trees right next to each other, but too far away for my camera to pick up both of them.  The thought going through my head was ‘I wish they would land on the same branch.  That would be amazing!’ and low and behold I got these golden pictures…

IMG_9856

😀

IMG_9858

I couldn’t believe it!

IMG_9863

They landed on the same branch and the one on the right kept looking down at us probably because we were making so much noise from our utter excitement of seeing them both in the same sunny spot!  It was, well, amazing!

Sadly….

IMG_9866

They flew away.  But it was so fun watching them and following them through the woods and I love these pictures that I got even though in the long run they really don’t mean anything.  I guess I am really glad that I got to see it with my own two eyes.

<><><>

So that was our Saturday afternoon through the woods.  I took some other pictures, so please sit back and enjoy the following images.

IMG_9860

Male Cardinal

IMG_9783

Female cardinal

IMG_7888

This is random, but it’s the cats fur!  Cool picture I thought.

IMG_7905

Clay the Cat

IMG_7913

When I looked at this picture on the computer I didn’t notice the cat in the background, but I thought that looked really neat!

IMG_7942

Eli

IMG_7945

Lovely Esme

IMG_9796

Squirrel

IMG_7954

And here’s the mucky creek!  Ew!

IMG_7935

An ivy heart 🙂

IMG_9779

Cael, who joined us for a little while but got cold and went back inside.

<><><>

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and an enjoyable Valentine’s day?  My mom always gets us candy and sets up the table with lights and hearts so that’s always fun. 🙂  And we got to spend Valentine’s day morning with Evvie, Bessie, and Davis!

IMG_7886

Have a wonderful day and I hope your week is great!

IMG_9748

God is so marvelous.

Thank you, Lord, for allowing Esme, Eli and I to see those beautiful birds in the woods the other day.  It was so fun to spend time in your magnificent creation and I thank you for blessing and providing us with the eyes and ability to see all of the beauty that surrounds us.  Amen!

“But let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”  1 Peter 3:4

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”  Psalm 139:14

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.”  2 Corinthians 4:16

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.”  Ecclesiastes 3:11

“Beside them the birds of the heavens dwell; they sing among the branches.”  Psalm 104:12

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”  Matthew 6:26 NIV

“But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”  Isaiah 40:31

“And I say, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest;…”  Psalm 55:6

Jenny~

P.S. This is my 200th post!  Wow!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne Huber
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 16:47:41

    This blog was incredible, Jenny! The pictures are amazing, God did give you guys the hawks! And the verses that He wrote and you found go along with His creation and how He made it for us! Praise God forever and ever! Thank you for sharing your heart! Much, much love, Aunt Jayne. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

