Pixie Haircut Journey

Hello, and welcome to the beginning of my pixie haircut journey.  Actually, you have arrived at the end, but I am going to have 2-3 parts to this “series” dedicated to my pixie haircut which I got in 2013, so I will be starting from the beginning of when it first happened.

So two years ago, right before we went on a family vacation to the beach, I did it.  I finally fulfilled my dream of getting an Audrey Hepburn pixie!  It was something that always intrigued me to try, but it scared me because I didn’t want to look like a boy or cut all my hair off then find out I look horrible with super short hair!  Luckily, I do have a face shape that is, shall we say, compatible with a lot of hairstyles, and I’m happy to inform you that a pixie was one!  Or so I and my family and friends thought. 🙂

We’re going to start way back in 2010 where I rebelled against stopping dance classes and cut my hair into a bob…that’s where it all began!  I had short hair when I was little, but it was long from when I was at least 8-9 to 14-years-old.

IMG_17369  IMG_27372

So there’s the 2010 dramatic change!  I loved that bob though.  It was so different from years of long, blunt, tangled hair.

IMG_6516

I loved this haircut all through 2011!

By the end of 2011 my hair was long again.

IMG_39367

You can’t really tell, but in this picture it was just passed my shoulders.

In 2012 I kept it long

IMG_0054

IMG_51504

My hair stayed long until July 2013

IMG_2270  IMG_2280

We volunteered at a pool the summer of 2013, and my hair was in a constant knot on the top of my head that was knotting together!  So, SNIP SNIP!

Lets pause for a second and zoom in to the picture above…

IMG_2280 - Copy

You see the encircled area?  Well, when I cut my hair summer of 2013, that happened, and ever since then, on the right side of my head, I’ve had what looks like some sort of matted frizzy area that is VERY aggravating to get under control!  You’ll notice that in my growing out process…you have been forewarned! 🙂

IMG_83724

I think if I had to choose I’d stay with this length when it comes to short hair.

So, after July 2013, I debated with my best friend about getting a pixie and it turned into the only thing we ever talked about, so one day I finally said to myself “It’s time!  LET’S DO THIS!!!”

IMG_4817  img_4704

I did it!  This was taken right when I got home from the cut.  No, I didn’t go from super long hair to a pixie (I don’t understand why people do that!), but still I had never had a pixie so it was such a big change, but I loved it!

img_4896

<><><>

Okay, so there was the process leading up to my pixie and the big moment when it happened!  Next time I will share with you the first part of the growing out process and then where I am in the hair journey today!  Thank you for stopping by.  Please come back if you’d like to see more pixie trials and tips, etc!  Have a blessed day.

Much love,

Jenny~

 

P.S. Happy August!!! 😀

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. turbomama20
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 12:44:41

    I loved your pixie post! Most delightful! I think you are adorable in any hairstyle- but so like the mid length pixie the best. Not the shortest one- but when it has grown out a wee bit! The one that you like for short hair! Just my humble opinion! I love when you wrote and post pics. Keep them coming!
    Love, Aunt Jayne 🙂

    Reply

    • Jennifer
      Sep 06, 2015 @ 14:14:45

      Thank you! It was fun having a pixie! I like that length too. Right before it touches my shoulders with a little bit of layers. Thank you! Love you.

      Jennifer

      Reply

  2. kevinjames9595
    Sep 01, 2015 @ 16:52:09

    How essential is growing it out? The pixie suits you incredibly but yeah, most of them do 🙂

    Reply

    • Jennifer
      Sep 06, 2015 @ 14:11:09

      Hello! Thank you for your comment! It is not essential. Before I got a pixie I looked into what style I wanted and every time I searched a bunch of things came up like “The Dreaded Pixie Grow Out” or “How to Grow Out a Pixie” and so I recorded my growing out process, which was not dreaded, to do the same. 🙂 Thank you very much; I enjoyed my pixie and am tempted to do it again.

      Jennifer

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Pixie Part 2 | Jennafifi
  4. Trackback: Jennafifi
  5. Trackback: Pixie Part 3 | Jennafifi

Leave a Reply

