A Different Perspective

12360171_203519919986447_8485922685470608571_n

The image or quote above is one that I shared on social media 4 years ago.  Back then, I was 4 years younger!  Today I have a different perspective, so I wanted to share that with you today.  Also, I won’t apologize for the neglect of this blog, however I have greatly missed posting and hope to revisit the idea of posting more often and kind of restructuring this blog; maybe even turn it into something new!  Anyway…

<><><>

“Coulda, woulda, shoulda…what if…if only…but…”

Sometimes situations happen in life where all you can think are the things above or “why did that have to happen or end?”, and in those moments usually you feel extremely discouraged, sad, disappointed, depressed, hopeless, upset, angry, pointless, meaningless, to name a few. There is almost nothing worse than building up towards something to then see it crash to the ground in some way, without reason, and you have to start all over. Whether that’s a career, a relationship, your health, anything…it can be really disheartening

What God has revealed to me (slowly but surely) as I have gone through many disappointments and “why” moments is that He is so much bigger than I can ever even begin to imagine, that His purpose and blue print for my life is so much more precise, meaningful, vast and important than I may ever know and certainly better than anything I could contrive, and that when things have failed, when I feel that I’ve failed, God is giving me many opportunities:

  • 1) To trust and depend on Him in the midst of disappointment from the world; to keep my focus on eternity!
  • 2) To humble myself and surrender the desires to achieve and succeed and accomplish, etc, whatever things keep failing; to desire HIM first and foremost!
  • 3) To remember that He is refining me through the trials even more than through the good times because it is there that I’m at the lowest and most vulnerable place.
  • 4) To know that He is protecting me from what He knows is not right for my life no matter how much I want it or think otherwise!
  • 5) Reiterating that at all times, in every situation and circumstance I can TRUST in and believe that Jesus Christ is all that I need, no matter how deep my desires are; He needs to be my deepest desire because I am His. He deeply desires my heart, mind, attention, focus, and obedience.

Lastly, I’ve learned (the hard way) that there IS a worse thing than being disappointed, let down, or failing, and that is choosing to be defeated and stuck because of your “failures”, not getting back up, trying again, moving on, letting go, or not trusting that God is faithful and has our best interest at heart.

We may never know why something didn’t work out or why that thing never happened or that person left our lives, but we don’t need to know when we have a Father in heaven who knows every detail, cares completely, and loves us so deeply.  I’m thankful for Jesus and that He never leaves nor forsakes me especially when I feel that I have failed Him immensely.  He’s always there for you, too, so don’t be afraid to trust in Him. ❤

<><><>

Merry (almost) Christmas!

Jenny~

Leave a comment